Department Participants at the 2017 APA Central Division Meeting

Department Participants at the 2017 APA Central Division Meeting

CUNY Philosophers are on the program at the APA Central Division Meeting, taking place March 1st-4th in Kansas City, MO.

Program highlights include:

Wednesday, March 1st 


Group Program Session: Society for the Philosophy of Agency
Chair: Zac Cogley (Northern Michigan University)
Adam Feltz (Michigan Technological University) “Measures of Agency”
Carrie Figdor (University of Iowa [alumnus]) “Epiphenomenalism and the Conscious Will: A Compatibilist Position”

Thursday, March 2nd


Group Program Session: U.S. Midwest Society for Women in Philosophy
Amber Rose Carlson (Vanderbilt University) “Trauma, Transformation, and the Rationality of Desire”
Zoey Ockenden (The Graduate Center, CUNY [PhD student]) “What’s Wrong with the (White) Female Nude?”
Qrescent Mason (Berea College) “Simone de Beauvoir’s Sexual Ethics: Affirmative Consent, Token Resistance and the Marquis de Sade”

12:10–2:10 p.m.

Colloquium: Epistemology: Evidentialism and Disagreement
Chair: Antonella Mallozzi (The Graduate Center, CUNY [PhD candidate])
12:10-1:10 – Is Evidentialism Prudent?”
Speaker: Christopher Stephens (University of British Columbia)
Commentator: Elizabeth Jackson (University of Notre Dame)
1:10-2:10 – “Luck and Disagreement” **Graduate student travel stipend recipient**
Speaker: Samuel Kampa (Fordham University)
Commentator: Joshua Blanchard (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)


Group Program Session: Society for the Philosophy of Creativity
Topic: Creativity and Political Imagination after Trump
Chair: Corey McCall (Elmira College)
Elvira Basevich (The Graduate Center, CUNY [PhD candidate])

Dana Miranda (University of Connecticut)
Rebecca Bamford (Quinnipiac University and Hunter College, CUNY)

Friday, March 3rd 


APA Committee Session: Jobs and Rewards: Teaching Philosophy at Community Colleges
Arranged by the APA Committee on Philosophy in Two-Year Colleges
Chair: Rick Repetti (Kingsborough Community College– CUNY [alumnus])
William Behun (McHenry County College, Illinois)
Bill Hartmann (St. Louis Community College–Forest Park)
Richard Legum (Kingsborough Community College–CUNY)


Invited Symposium: Resentment and Forgiveness
Chair: Myisha Cherry (University of Illinois at Chicago)
Miranda Fricker (The Graduate Center, CUNY [faculty])
Margaret Urban Walker (Marquette University)
Commentator: Charles Griswold (Boston University)

APA Committee Session: Ancient Chinese and Contemporary Philosophy
Arranged by the APA Committee on International Cooperation
Chair: John M. Ramsey (Indiana University of Pennsylvania)
Julianne Chung (University of Louisville) “Why Chinese Philosophy Is Indispensable”
Amy Olberding (University of Oklahoma)
Hagop Sarkissian (Baruch College & The Graduate Center, CUNY [faculty]) “Metaethical Relativism and Natural Daos”


Introduction: Charles W. Mills (The Graduate Center, CUNY [faculty])
Valerie Tiberius (University of Minnesota) “The Well-Being of Philosophy”

Saturday, March 4th 


Colloquium: Perception and Emotion
Chair: Lana Kuhle (Illinois State University)
9:00–10:00 a.m.- “Emotion as a Form of Perception, or Why William James Did Not Believe the James-Lange Theory” **Graduate student travel stipend recipient** Speaker: Guilherme Sanches de Oliveira (University of Cincinnati) Commentator: Marianna Bergamaschi Ganapini (Johns Hopkins University) 10:00–11:00 a.m. – “Emotions and the Creation of Affordances”
Speaker: Daniel Shargel (Lawrence Technological University [alumnus])
Commentator: Trip Glazer (Georgetown University)
11:00 a.m.–Noon “Why Pain Motivates: A Critique of the Imperativist View of Pain” **Graduate student travel stipend recipient**
Speaker: Matthew Babb (University of Southern California)
Commentator: Hichem Naar (University of Nebraska–Omaha)


Invited Symposium: Human Dignity: Perspectives From Political Outsiders
Chair: Remy Debes (University of Memphis)
Charles W. Mills (The Graduate Center, CUNY [faculty])
Lori Gruen (Wesleyan University)
Lori Watson (University of San Diego)