CUNY Philosophers Travel to Denver for APA Central 2019

CUNY Philosophers Travel to Denver for APA Central 2019

The 2019 American Philosophical Association Central Division Meeting will take place February 20th-23rd in Denver, Colorado.

Scroll through the program highlights copied below to find out which CUNY Philosophy students, faculty, and alumni will be presenting work at this year’s meeting! Click here to view the full conference program.

Wednesday, February 20th

11:00 A.M.–1:00 P.M

1C. Author Meets Critics: Armin Schulz, Efficient Cognition: The Evolution of Representational Decision Making

  • Chair: Sarah Robins (University of Kansas)
    • Author: Armin Schulz (University of Kansas)
    • Critics:
      • Hayley Clatterbuck (University of Rochester)
      • Justin Garson (Hunter College, CUNY [Spring 2019 faculty])

4:00–6:00 P.M.

3D. Submitted Colloquium: Philosophy of Neuroscience

  • Chair: Kirstin Wladkoenig (University of Montana)
    • Speaker: Samuel Murray (University of Notre Dame) “Murray’s Two Problems with Arguments for Animal Consciousness”
      • Commentator: Zina Ward (University of Pittsburgh)
  • Chair: Tomasz Wysocki (University of Pittsburgh)
    • Speaker: Morgan Thompson (University of Pittsburgh) “Robustness Analysis in Network Neuroscience”
      • Commentator: Carrie Figdor (University of Iowa [alum])

Thursday, February 21st

12:30–2:30 P.M.

4L. Invited Symposium: Prejudice in Philosophy

  • Chair: Vida Yao (Rice University)
    • Speakers:
      • Robert Bernasconi (Pennsylvania State University) “The Deafening Silence about Slavery in Histories of Political Philosophy: Past Prejudices Preserved or Evidence of a Persisting Institutional Racism?”
      • Charles W. Mills (City University of New York [faculty]) Title TBA
    • Commentator: Lucy Allais (University of California, San Diego, and University of Witwatersrand)

7:00–9:00 p.m. — The AAPT-APA Teaching Hub

M10. Closing Reception: Undergraduate Research and Faculty SoTL Poster Session

  • Faculty SoTL Posters
    • Jules Salomone (City University of New York [PhD candidate]) “‘We the Pupils,’ A Social-Justice Podcast Recorded in the Classroom”

Friday, February 22nd

8:30–11:30 A.M

6F. Invited Symposium: Metapragmatics

  • Chair: Mark Warren (Daemen College)
  • Speakers:
    • Nathaniel Hansen (University of Reading) “A Corpus Study of ‘Know’: On the Verification of Philosophers’ Frequency Claims about Language”
    • Rachel McKinney (Suffolk University [alum]) “Metapragmatics and Political Contestation”
    • Mark Phelan (Lawrence University) “Speech Effects”


6G. APA Committee Session: Author Meets Critics: Linda Martín Alcoff’s Rape and Resistance
Arranged by the APA Committee on Hispanics

  • Chair: Tiffany Montoya (Purdue University)
    • Author: Linda Martín Alcoff (Hunter College, CUNY [faculty])
    • Critics:
      • Verena Erlenbusch-Anderson (University of Memphis)
      • Juan J. Colomina-Almiñana (University of Texas at Austin)
      • Cynthia Paccacerqua (University of Texas at Rio Grande Valley)
      • Rebecca Whisnant (University of Dayton)

Saturday, February 23rd

8:30–11:30 A.M.

10I. Invited Symposium: The Epistemic Value of Diversity

  • Chair: Michael Brent (University of Denver)
  • Speakers:
    • Linda Martín Alcoff (Hunter College, CUNY [faculty]) Title TBA
    • Katherine Gasdaglis (California State Polytechnic University, Pomona) Title TBA
    • Alex Madva (California State Polytechnic University, Pomona) “Intersectionality as a Regulative Ideal”
    • Joseph Shin (Weill Cornell Medical College) “From Patients to Populations: Characterizing the Epistemic Value of Diversity in Medical Research and Care”
    • Tempest Henning (Vanderbilt University) Title TBA

10M. Invited Symposium: Justice and Equality

  • Chair: Charles W. Mills (City University of New York [faculty])
  • Speakers:
    • Chris Lebron (Johns Hopkins University) Title TBA
    • Vanessa Wills (George Washington University) Title TBA
    • Jose Jorge Mendoza (University of Massachusetts Lowell) “Justice and Equality in Immigration Policy”

11:40 A.M.–2:40 P.M.

G8B. The Philosophy, Politics and Economics Society
Topic: New Work in Philosophy, Politics, and Economics

  • Chair: Geoffrey Sayre-McCord (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
  • Speakers:
    • Jennifer Morton (CUNY [faculty]) “Reconsidering Grit and Optimism in Student Success”
    • Ryan Muldoon (University at Buffalo, SUNY) “Where You Are and What You Value”

G8D. Society for the Advancement of American Philosophy
Topic: Reason, Justice, and Community

  • Chair: Elizabeth Cooke (Creighton University)
  • Speakers:
    • Elizabeth Cooke (Creighton University) “Pragmatism and the Role of Pretense in Reason”
    • Sergio Gallegos-Ordorica (John Jay School of Criminal Justice [alum]) “Royce and Caso: Two Parallel Visions of the Ideal of a Universal Human Community”