CFP: Society for Philosophy & Psychology | Due 2/15

CFP: Society for Philosophy & Psychology | Due 2/15

CALL FOR PAPERS: Society for Philosophy & Psychology

40th Annual Meeting

University of British Columbia

19-21 June 2014

Submission Deadline: 15 February 2014

Call for Papers 2014

Papers may be submitted for oral or poster presentation. Submitted papers are refereed and selected on the basis of quality and relevance to philosophy, psychology and other sciences of the mind.

Submission via EasyChair
(Now open!)

Submissions should be tailored to one of the following presentation types:

  1. Paper presentations. Presenters of accepted papers will be given time slots of either 15 or 30 minutes, depending on the content of the paper, its fit with other papers on similar topics, and overall program balance. When submitting a paper, you have a choice between a short submission of 1,500 words and a long submission of 3,500 words; this is designed to accommodate both empirical papers that may be communicated briefly and theoretical papers that may require a fuller exposition. Both submission formats (1,500 and 3,500 word) are eligible for either talk length (15 min and 30 min)
  2. Posters (abstracts of up to 750 words). Two evenings of the meeting are devoted to concurrent poster presentations.

Philosophical or psychological research may be submitted for any one of the above formats. Work that is not accepted for the author(s)’ preferred format may be considered for presentation in other formats.

Papers and abstracts must be written in a format appropriate for anonymous review and employ gender-neutral language. Individual authors may submit only one paper or abstract as first author, though they may be co-authors on other submissions.

Please submit your paper or abstract via EasyChair by February 15, 2014.






Image: juliacait

40th Annual Meeting, June 2013

The next meeting of the Society for Philosophy and Psychology will be 19-21 June 2014, at the University of British Columbia.

[See the Meeting page for more information]

Invited Program

Keynote Speakers: Jerry Fodor and Michael Tomasello

Invited Symposia:

Retrospective on the SPP: Lila Gleitman, Susan Carey, Jerry Fodor, and Alison Gopnik.

Joint Attention: Amanda Woodward, Herb Clark, John Campbell, and Elizabeth Redcay.

Psychopathy: James Blair, Patricia Greenspan, Bob Hare, and Del Palhuas.

Visual Perception and Attention: Tyler Burge, Brian Scholl, Jiaying Zhao, and Christopher Mole.

Nativism and Empiricism–The State of the Art: Linda Smith, Eric Margolis, and Kiley Hamlin.

Color Vision: Kathleen Akins, and Jonathan Cohen.

Origins of Propositional Thought: Susan Carey, Paul Pietroski, and Fei Xu.

Dretske’s Legacy: Brian Sykrms, John Perry, Louise Antony, and Murat Aydede.

Updates and additional speakers will be posted as more information becomes available.

There will also be addresses by SPP President Alan Leslie and by the winner of the 2014 Stanton Prize, which is awarded to a leading new interdisciplinary researcher; past winners have included Joshua Greene, Adina Roskies, Joshua Knobe, and Edouard Machery.

Program Committee

The SPP Program Committee Chairs for 2014 are Kiley Hamlin (University of British Columbia) and Josh Armstrong (UCLA).

For further information, see the meetings page. Inquiries about the meeting should be directed to the program chairs. Inquiries about the local arrangements should be directed to the local arrangements chairs Murat Aydede (UBC) and Christopher Mole (UBC).