CFP: Graduate Aesthetics Conference, Due Jan 10

CFP: Graduate Aesthetics Conference, Due Jan 10

CFP: Graduate Conference in Aesthetics

Sunday April 17, 2016

Independence Park Hotel, Philadelphia

Keynote Speaker: Dr. Paul Taylor (Penn State University)

Sponsored by the American Society for Aesthetics and the Greater Philadelphia Philosophy Consortium

The Graduate Conference in Aesthetics is aimed at facilitating conversations on aesthetics between philosophy graduate students and philosophers working in the fields of aesthetics and the philosophy of art. Each presented paper receives commentary from a professional philosopher.

Call for Papers: High quality papers in any area of aesthetics, in both “analytic” and “continental” traditions, are invited from students enrolled in any graduate program in philosophy. Submissions must make a useful contribution to existing literature in a subfield, but should be understandable to aestheticians outside of that subfield. Three or four submissions will be selected for presentation. Papers must be 3,000 words or less (not including footnotes), accompanied by a 100-word abstract, and prepared for blind review. Submissions must be in .doc, .docx, .rtf, or .pdf format. Please send submissions and questions to <>. Each student whose paper is accepted will receive up to $300 to cover travel costs.

Submission deadline: January 10, 2016.

Paul C. Taylor is Associate Professor of Philosophy and African American Studies at Pennsylvania State University. He is the author, most recently, of On Obama (Routledge 2015) and Black is Beautiful: A Philosophy of Black Aesthetics(Wiley 2016).

N.B.: The American Society for Aesthetics Eastern Division meeting occurs immediately before the Graduate Conference, also in Philadelphia. Graduate students are encouraged to submit papers to both ASA-Eastern and the Graduate Conference, but they must be different papers. Authors may not submit the same paper to both the ASA-Eastern and the Graduate Conference in Aesthetics.



Katie Brennan (Temple University)

John Dyck (CUNY Graduate Center)

Lindsey Fiorelli (University of Pennsylvania)

Katherine Kurtz (Villanova University)