2014-2015 Philosophy Department Student Committee Winners!

2014-2015 Philosophy Department Student Committee Winners!

The student committee elections are over and the results are in!
Here are the committee members for the 2014-2015 academic year:

Student Steering Committee

Cosim Sayid
Claudia Pace
Jon Kwan
Amanda Bryant
Kate Pendoley

Laura Kane (alternate)
Lauren Alpert (alternate)

This committee tends to meet monthly to discuss student concerns and bring proposals to the Program. It also meets jointly with the faculty on the Executive Committee on the first Wednesday of every month at 2p.m. The EC discusses important business as it relates to the Program including job searches and the approval of changes to the curriculum and other areas. Students have a voice in all of these areas and a vote except in faculty appointments and exam results.


Committee On Representation

Eric Bayruns
Katherine Tullman
Javier Gomez-Lavin

Like many other philosophy departments around the country, ours is committed to improving the representation and voices of women and minorities in the department and the profession. We are keenly aware that longstanding imbalances in numbers have created difficulties in recruiting women and minority faculty members.  The Committee on Representation has been formed to address issues that might arise as a result of this, and with a view to exploring possibilities for increasing the representation and voices of woman and minorities in the program.


Admissions Committee

Amanda Bryant
Derek Skillings

The members of the admissions committee review applications for admission and particpate in the ranking and selection of candidates for the incoming class. This committee is quite time-consuming but only meets in early- to mid- spring semester.


Colloquium Committee

Cosim Sayid
Javier Gomez-Lavin

The collloquium committee recommends speakers for our colloquium series. It also administers student attendees at external speaker colloquium dinners and selection of student-led colloquium speakers.


Curriculum & Examinations Committee

Katherine Mendis
Jesse Rappaport

This committee meets to discuss proposed changes to the curriculum.


Elections Committee

Nada Gatalo
David Nagy
Elvira Basevich

The elections committee is responsible for filling the positions in the other committees.


Faculty Membership Committee

Jesse Rappaport
Denise Vigani

This committee meets as needed to make recommendations for central-line faculty appointments and consortial faculty appointments from other CUNY campuses. Students do not have a vote on this committee.


Graduate Council

Laura Kane
Jennifer Ware

The Graduate Council is the governing body of the GC with representatives from each program. It meets twice a semester to discuss and vote on matters that come before it, which primarily involve changes to degree programs. Attendance is critical.


Library Committee

Jesse Atencio
Ericka Abraham
Daniel Boyd

This committee makes recommendaions for book and journal acquisitions by the library. It also administers donated books, including shelving and registration.


Placement Committee

Katherine Mendis
Nada Gatalo

The placement committee helps to organize mock interviews and other activities that will help the Program’s placement record.


Student & Alumni Affairs Committee

Laura Kane
Carolyn Plunkett

This committee addresses areas of student and alumni interest, including a consideration of student concerns and possible fund-raising opportunities. It also coordinates the peer mentoring system, pairing incoming students with volunteer student mentors in the program.